top of page
Erika Murase

Hawaiian Butter Mochi

Hawaiian Butter Mochi is a fun little recipe that my dad sent me to try this week! I have never cooked with Mochiko before but my parents have made a bunch of mochi cakes and other recipes throughout my childhood with it so I knew it was about time for me to try making something on my own.

This recipe creates a soft, buttery, gluten-free cake that melts in your mouth and is super delish. This is a perfect no-fuss recipe that you can put together to share with your loved ones!


Ready in: 1 hour and 15 minutes

Serves: 24 people

Difficulty: Beginner


Ingredients

  • 2 cups whole milk

  • 2 cups granulated sugar

  • 1 box of Mochiko flour (you can buy this on Amazon!)

  • 1 can coconut milk

  • 4 large eggs

  • ¾ cup butter (room temperature/softened)

  • 1 teaspoon baking powder

  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract


Cooking steps

  1. Preheat the oven to 350°F

  2. Butter or spray a 9x13 inch pan

  3. Beat eggs, whole milk, butter, coconut milk, and vanilla extract together in a bowl

  4. Mix the Mochiko, sugar, baking powder in a separate large bowl

  5. Add your liquid ingredients into the large bowl and whisk (or use a hand mixer) to combine all of it together. This doesn’t take too long because we used Mochiko instead of regular flour.

  6. Pour the mixture into the greased pan (Pro tip: smack the bottom of the pan while holding it and give it a little jiggle to get any air bubbles out)

  7. Bake in the oven for about 1 hour (it should be a light golden brown color on top)

  8. Take it out of the oven and let it completely cool

  9. Cut it into squares to serve!

  10. Store in an airtight container at room temperature and it will stay good for 2-3 days.

Tips:

  • I sadly didn’t have any coconut milk so I wasn’t able to get it to have the buttery coconut taste that people rave about :(

  • I only made ½ this recipe because I didn’t have a large enough pan and only had an oven-safe deep dish.




20 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page